Open Expeditions

Participants must be enrolled to Dorset Council. 

This page includes dates, application forms and other helpful resources.

Achieving your Award is an adventure from beginning to end and this section can give you some of your most memorable experiences!

From sailing along the Norfolk Broads to walking in Canada or horse riding in the Brecon Beacons, it can be as far-flung or as close to home as you want it to be.  You can also choose how you want to travel – it doesn’t just have to be on foot!  You could choose to do your expedition by bike, by canoe, by kayak, by wheelchair, by sailing boat or even on a horse or llama!

Having said all that, DofE Centres may only be able to offer you walking as an option because that is where the leader expertise lies.

However, you can still join an expedition elsewhere so long as it is delivered by a DofE licensed organisation. If this organisation is outside of your own licensed organisation, and not an Approved Activity Provider, it is essential that you check insurance cover.

You must be enrolled, on eDofE, at the level of the expedition that you are undertaking.

Further information on the DofE Expedition section

Dorset Council Expeditions

Participants must be enrolled to Dorset Council. 

Usually, Gold Events go to Dartmoor from the Top ‘O Town Car Park, Dorchester, and back again. 

The Kit List and Food ideas are at the bottom of the page.

BURSARY. Dorset works closely with the John Thornton Young Achiever’s Foundation to support young people, enrolled through the County, to achieve more than family funds could usually support. See JTYAF Application Form for Dorset DofE

2023 Potential further dates for independent enrolments

GOLD, Sat 11 Feb – Sun 12 Feb 2023 (Bunkhouse) Training, rolling into Mon 13 Feb – Wed 15 Feb Practice

GOLD, Fri 31 Mar – Tues 4 Apr 2023 Easter Final (if Trg and Prac completed)

GOLD, Thurs 29 Jun – Fri 30 Jun 2023 Training, rolling into Sat 1 Jul to Mon 3 Jul Practice

SILVER, Fri 7 July – Sun 9 July Practice. Possibly BRONZE Final

GOLD, Tues 29 Aug – Thurs 31 Aug 2023 Practice

SILVER, Tues 29 Aug – Thurs 31 Aug Final FInal

GOLD, Fri 29 Sept – Tues 3 Oct 2023 Final

If dates above do not suit, have a look here OR contact dofe@dorsetcouncil.gov.uk to discuss where you might be able to form or join a team within Dorset Council’s DofE area. 

RESOURCES

Expedition FAQs

The 20 Conditions of the DofE Expedition

Medical and Consent Form

Dorset Exped Application Form

Required Kit List

DofE Gourmet Meal suggestions and Suggestions with Weblinks 2022

You must be enrolled at the appropriate level to undertake the Expedition. If you are not, please complete online

AAP (Approved Activity Provider) choices are found here.