Current Dorset Council DofE Centres

This lists where the Award can be joined

Where are they?

Links to each Centre and/or their coordinators are below. Most are term time only: –

Open Award Centres:

Dorset Open Award – participants who are mainly supported online and offered their expeditions with Dorset @DofEDorset

Corfe Mullen  Monday 7 – 9pm, BH21 3HQ, Nigel Christopher 

Five Alive, Lyme Regis Meetings arranged with the group, EX137RF, Adam Taylor

Gillingham  Tuesday term time 3.30 – 5.50pm SP8 4QP, Tony Baverstock @dofegilloac

Wareham  1st and 3rd Sundays 5 – 8pm, BH20 4PH, Barry Ashdown @purbeckdofe

Schools, academies and colleges

All Saints CE Academy, Weymouth Kevin Butcher @AllSaints_Wyke

Beaminster School Rachael Randall @BeaminsterSch

Beaucroft Foundation School (SEN), Wimborne Diane Wilkinson 

Blandford School  Vicky Moore @BlandfordSchool

Budmouth Academy, Weymouth Sam Temple @BudmouthAcademy

Dorset Studio School, Dorchester Neal Burton @DorsetStudioSch

Ferndown Upper School Chris Martin @FerndownUpper

Gryphon School, Sherborne Geoff Cooke @GryphonSchool

Lytchett Minster School  Lucie Popham @LytchettDofE

Mountjoy School, Beaminster Kat Thurtle @mountjoy_school

Purbeck School  Ben Keen @PurbeckSchool

Queen Elizabeth’s School, Wimborne Alex Priest @QESDorset

Shaftesbury School  Michael Mottram @Shaftesbury_sch

Swanage School Julia Tratt @SwanageSchool

Sir John Colfox School, Bridport Rosalind Hull @SirJohnColfox

Sturminster Newton High School Hannah Laidler Facebook

Thomas Hardye School, Dorchester  Paul Norman @thspe

Westfield Arts College (SEN), Weymouth Jim Dailey @westfield_wyke

Wey Valley Academy, Weymouth  Mark Salmon @Wey_Valley

Woodroffe School, Lyme Regis  Zoe Trunks @WoodroffeSchool

Yewstock College  Benjamin Tun Pe @YewstockSchool

Independent schools

Leweston, Sherborne  Elizabeth Haynes  @LewestonSchool

Milton Abbey  Katherine Grugeon @MiltonAbbey

Sherborne Girls  Jayne Dart @SherborneGirls

Sherborne School  James Hull @SherborneSchool

Dorset’s Virtual Awards

This is for the independent motivated young person who cannot find a DofE Centre near them but wants to complete their Award. There is no need to have completed previous levels if wanting to come in at Silver or Gold.

The Virtual Centre, Dorset Open Award Centre, could be for you. You don’t need to attend any meetings, unless undertaking your Expedition, and you can choose what you want to do and when you want to do it. This is a chance for you to gain new experiences, give yourself an edge over the competition and develop yourself in ways that employers and universities are hungry for.

The benefits of doing DofE: one young person’s view and the skills for work gained.

Examples of personal statements 

Read the article in The Guardian (February 2016) which recommends including your DofE experiences on your CV